Great Responsibility

Being a SUPER MOMMA is my greatest life aspiration these days.  When it comes to earning the respect of my children (Liam, 4 years, and Maeve, 2 years) my determination knows no bounds.  Sometimes all that is needed is a cookie given at just the right time, or the provision of a smile and a hug when little feelings have been hurt.  There are other times, however, when something more extreme is required.

I grew up in a loving home with a mother who made sure there was a hot dinner on the table when my father got home from work every evening.  Watching my mom bake a pie for dessert or stir a pitcher of lemonade are among some of my earlier childhood memories, and even the thought of her hard work gives me that warm, fuzzy feeling inside.  It is because of her loving discipline in the kitchen that I am inspired to be a similar role model and source of comfort to my own children.

Enter “The Button Club”!  After hearing about How to Sew a Button: And Other Nifty Things Your Grandmother Knew I began to imagine myself as SUPER MOMMA: FOLDER OF FITTED SHEETS AND CANNER OF FRUITS, standing atop a hillside, my hard-working hands on my child-bearing hips, my cape flying back from my shoulders in the wind, inspiring respect, love, and admiration in toddlers everywhere!

Here’s to using my MOMMA POWERS wisely.  Cheers, Button Club!  I’m so, so looking forward to this adventure.

11 Responses to “Great Responsibility”

  1. Kari Says:

    We know you are already a Super Momma!

  2. Megan Says:

    ha! you are AWESOME! but that cape/hilltop/cue ‘the sound of music theme here’ image just about made me double over. so awesome.

  3. Lydia Says:

    Super Momma indeed! I can so picture the cape!

  4. Courtney Says:

    When is the photoshoot for the hilltop? I want to come!

  5. Geof F. Morris Says:

    I’ll volunteer to shoot it, Courtney!

  6. Megan Says:

    i think geof morris secretly wants to join the button club.

  7. links for 2010-04-20 | GFMorris.com Says:

    [...] Great Responsibility « The Button Club (tags: gfmorris_comment) [...]

  8. Bethany Says:

    Love the hilltop scene Kathleen! So proud of the awesome momma you already are!

  9. Kim Says:

    Your kids are so cute!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

