Never Adventurous

I don’t blog.  I have a blog, and it hasn’t been updated in over a year.   Maybe I should change that.  Or maybe I could just focus on the current task at hand – trying to blog about doing things I’ve never done.  Thankfully I have many wonderful ladies to help me out.

Up until, oh, now, my solution to a problem – whether it be a manual task that I don’t know how to do, or trying to formulate the right words for a letter – has resulted in one simple word: MOM!  I pretty much only know how to make boxed macaroni and cheese and asparagus.  I’ve successfully made 1 baked potato (albeit the cheater way – in the microwave), and have ruined all the rest.  I even managed to ruin hamburger helper.  Seriously…how does one do that?!  (the answer, if you’re wondering, is by not thawing the meat before I stuck it on the skillet)

I know that I will pretty much always live near my parents (well, that is as soon as I move out from under their roof!), but I want to be able to fend for myself even while mom is just in the next room over.  Maybe I’ll even get to teach her something new (probably not, but you never know).  I already managed to teach her that, apparently, this book is found in the woodworking section at our local Border’s…that was unexpected.  Hope that doesn’t mean I’ll have to pull out all the power tools and create a spice rack or something (no, I haven’t read all the chapter titles yet, so feel free to laugh at me loudly if there happens to be some woodworking involved in this project!).

I wish one of the topics were “how to make a bassoon reed” or “how to play the bassoon” because I’d be a master at that.  I’m also a master at using a television remote.  But sadly, none of those things are something our grandmothers could do, so I guess I’m stuck with learning something new ;)

I’m excited for this chance to expand my horizons as far as what I can do.  But this is your fair warning that you might not hear from me for everything (though I hope I learn to change that aspect of my skill set as well).

(and also, if you noticed, my little intro post’s picture is not near as awesome as my friends’.  I had all the plans in the world to make it all artistic and stuff, but my camera battery is dead and I am too lazy to recharge it.  Just like I’m too lazy to do much of anything else…hopefully until now)

7 Responses to “Never Adventurous”

  1. Bethany Says:

    I’m right there with you Robyn! I want to do these things but generally end up lazing around twirling my hair and watching tv instead!

  2. Lydia Says:

    Hah! Master of the Remote is, sadly, something I can claim as well!

    (And I like the picture!)

  3. Kari Says:

    Yay for growing up! :)

  4. Megan Says:

    robyn,

    i think your honesty in this post is absolutely beautiful. don’t worry too much about what other people are writing or doing – just be yourself!

  5. brandimanes Says:

    There’s no shame in asking your mom to help! And I guarantee you will learn something you can teach her. No way she knows all the stuff in this book. :)

  6. Bethany Says:

    I am totally impressed that you can make reeds. I think that shows that you’re capable of more than you give yourself credit for. Go, Robyn!

  7. Kim Says:

    I agree with Bethany! There’s no way I could make reeds like that. Of course, I don’t play bassoon, so there you go. ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

