Grounded

My boss likes to say I’m a “hip, swinging single.”  I’m not really sure what that means, but I think it has something to do with being socially active. I can see his point

I went from college to graduate school to full time ministry with college students, and let me tell you, that is a chaotic combo.  These days, between meetings on campus with students and being out and about with friends, I rarely make the time to putter around the house.  As an extrovert, I don’t often need a great deal of at-home-alone time, so I often bounce from activity to activity all day long.

I have found that tasks like doing dishes and cleaning the kitchen table and making dinner make my life feel less floaty.  Domesticity anchors me.  And I am really excited to expand my practical knowledge in this area, because heaven knows I need things like folding fitted sheets to keep me from sailing off into the clouds or from wandering aimlessly through life.

I am a very very heady person.  It is easy for me to get wrapped up in my own thoughts.  But we aren’t just spirits – we are embodied spirits, and doing our laundry matters.  To me, this is an important thing to realize when we turn our attentions toward “mundane” things like darning socks and hemming fancy pants.  As this song so eloquently it, “everything is sacred.”  This principle is a gift of the Reformation – the realization that everything is, as it were, religiously significant: the janitor is no less holy by nature or calling than the minister.

So bring on the quilting and the drain unclogging!

6 Responses to “Grounded”

  1. Kim Says:

    That’s a great way to look at it, Lauren!

  2. Bethany Says:

    Good thoughts, Lauren!

  3. Megan Says:

    You ARE a hip, swinging single.

  4. Lydia Says:

    Awesome way to think of it, Lauren!

  5. Beth(any) Says:

    Love this Lauren!

  6. Courtney Says:

    I love the idea of domesticity as an anchor! It makes it sound less onerous and more like a blessing. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

