Baby Steps

I hate folding laundry.  Let me rephrase that:  I hate putting away laundry.  I don’t know why, since I don’t uniformly hate all household chores.  I actually like washing the dishes.  But sorting through freshly laundered items and folding/hanging them neatly away?  No, thank you.

So it is not especially surprising that I procrastinated the sheet folding until the very last moment.  The whole not-getting-home-before-10-pm every night last week thing probably didn’t help either.  So at 4:20 yesterday afternoon,when I had 10 minutes before I had to leave for church (after which I was headed to dinner and a concert), I thought to myself, “Crap! I have to fold that sheet!”

And you know what?  In 10 minutes, I had that sheet neatly folded and in the linen closet.  Even after I had to pick about 100 little tiny hairballs off of it (it was being used to shield the couch from dog hair).  Which made me think that maybe, just maybe, I could stand doing that amount of housework at a time, and eventually, those little bits might actually add up to a relatively clean and organized house on a regular basis.

Now, if only the Nashville water restrictions were lifted so that I could actually DO some dishes and laundry…

3 Responses to “Baby Steps”

  1. Marlo Says:

    That last sentance almost makes me wish I were in Nashville- no housework! There’s always a bright side, right?
    And as for the 10 min.- I think you may be on to something.

  2. Kim Says:

    Go, Susan!

  3. Lydia Says:

    It really surprised me how easy it was too! I actually folded three today.. just whish whish done!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

