Berry Delicious!

I have a confession to make:  I cannot follow a recipe.  I try so hard, but I just can’t do it.  I always end up tweaking it a little bit (or a lot) to make it different or better and occasionally worse.  To me, recipes are just a jumping off point.

On Sunday morning, I confidently told my husband that we were having blueberry pancakes for breakfast.  We had skipped church, so why not take the time to make a delicious breakfast .  We had blueberries in the freezer, so I knew it would be a piece of cake ( or pancake).  Except for the fact that I didn’t have any milk.  I did have some vanilla yogurt in the fridge.  Surely I could use that instead of milk.  I thought that the yogurt might make the batter more fluffy and airy, so why not make waffles instead?  Especially since I like waffles better than pancakes. That is how my blueberry pancakes turned into blueberry waffles. 

We topped them with real maple syrup, powdered sugar, and Wild Blueberry syrup (that we got on our honeymoon in Maine), because everything is better when covered in sugar.   I also served them with a side of scrambled eggs and sausage, because my husband needs protein in his breakfast.  In my perfect world, I would have had a big glass of milk to go with them, but as you know, we were out of milk.

Here is the recipe for my blueberry waffles.  Keep in mind that I’m not very good at measuring either, so all measurements are close approximations.

Rhonda’s Blueberry Pancakes Waffles

1 cup water
1 cup vanilla yogurt

2 eggs
2 cups whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

1 cup blueberries

In a medium/large bowl, combine the water, yogurt, and eggs. Add dry ingredients and stir to combine.  I’m sure it would be better if you mixed the dry ingredients together  first in a smaller bowl, but I hate washing more dishes. Add blueberries and lightly mix in.  Let batter sit for a few moments. (I read somewhere once that waffle batter should sit a bit before you bake it. ?) Bake in a waffle iron.

Top with sugary toppings and enjoy your delicious breakfast!

7 Responses to “Berry Delicious!”

  1. Megan Says:

    So cool, Rhonda! Those look delicious. I had no idea you could sub yogurt for milk. Lol.

  2. Hannah Faith Says:

    Those look yummy, Rhonda!

  3. Kim Says:

    Those look awesome!!

  4. Lydia Says:

    Those look delicious!!

  5. Kari Says:

    Why do you like waffles better than pancakes?

  6. Beth(any) Says:

    I like waffles better than pancakes too Rhonda! I like that they’re a little crispy on the edge and not just spongy


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

