I hate pancakes.

It’s true. I don’t like pancakes. Or waffles. Or donuts. Or cinnamon buns. I don’t like breakfast all that much, because it often centers around these sweet pastry sorts of things that give me the heebie jeebies because when I eat them, I feel shaky and gross two hours later. Also, I don’t like scrambled eggs. Breakfast foods I like include bacon and sausage. And cold pizza. Lately I have been eating peanut butter sandwiches for breakfast.

(We won’t even get into the drama that used to take place when I would stay at people’s houses and their moms would feed me things like pancakes or scrambled eggs. And I, having been raised right by my mother, would have to eat them. I wish they had just offered me a peanut butter sandwich. Or some cold pizza.)

However. I will be the first to tell you that my aversion to these sorts of foods means that I don’t know how to make them. At all. I had made pancakes one time in my life before Sunday morning. And that was using Bisquick. So it was kind of cheating and not exactly from scratch. Though I consider myself a reasonably good cook, Mike is the one who actually knows what he is doing in the kitchen. His years working at the Fresh Market and at McDonald’s taught him a lot about making food (no, seriously, working at McDonald’s taught him a lot of useful tricks), and he knows more about buying and cooking food than I do. So I have been content to let him be the pancake-maker as well as the raw-meat-purchaser and the king-of-the-grill. Content but also more than a little bit hesitant to try.

I did have to get a few tips from Mike, but here is my pancake-making in action.

Making blueberry pancakes

When we were eating the pancakes, I realized that it might be my first time eating blueberry pancakes. My mom made chocolate chip pancakes sometimes, but I don’t remember blueberry. So this was a new experience for me through and through. I even shared a pancake with our rabbit, Big Bunny. It was a new experience for her as well.

Big Bunny enjoys pancakes, apparently

As much as it pains me, in the interest of full disclosure, I have to admit that I did feel kind of terrible a couple of hours after eating the pancakes. So I ate some more sausage. Which did the trick.

13 Responses to “I hate pancakes.”

  1. Lydia Says:

    hahaha LOVE the tags. I’m glad you at least gave them a shot!

  2. Tweets that mention I hate pancakes. « The Button Club -- Topsy.com Says:

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Lydia, thebeth. thebeth said: RT @masterkari: I hate pancakes. http://bit.ly/aqNult #ButtonClub [...]

  3. Marlo Says:

    I have griddle envy now. What kind is that?
    Love the picture of the bunny with the pancake.

    • Kari Says:

      A Toastmaster. It is a point of contention in our family because Mike asked for a griddle and so my brother gave me one for my birthday. Which was very nice of him, but Mike was the one who wanted it. It was as if Mike got two birthdays that year.

  4. Kim Says:

    Great job, Kari! Did Big Bunny like hers?

  5. Geof F. Morris Says:

    I think I’ve eaten your share of pancakes in my life. Heck, it makes me want to go to IHOP for dinner.

  6. Beth(any) Says:

    Bunnies sort of freak me out but I love that you gave her pancakes anyway :)

  7. links for 2010-05-16 | GFMorris.com Says:

    [...] I hate pancakes. « The Button Club (tags: gfmorris_comment) Posted May 16th, 2010 in del.icio.us Links by del.icio.us Linkdumper. [...]

  8. Not just any ordinary pancakes « The Button Club Says:

    [...] night and I decided to make my middle daughter’s favorite for breakfast: pancakes.  (Unlike Kari, they seemed excited at the prospect.)    Except for one [...]

  9. Nancy Says:

    I love breakfast – but not the pancake, waffle, cinnamon bun kind. You’re exactly right – they leave you feeling not-so-good later. It’s because there is no protein. That’s why you like bacon and sausage for breakfast. I prefer the scrambled eggs, but I honor that you don’t like them. And I’m with you about the peanut butter. I actually like peanut butter on an English muffin for breakfast. But what I really like is good fiber-y cereal with strawberries, bananas, and soy milk. More than you wanted to know, I’m sure. Anyway, if you ever get the urge to make blueberry pancakes again, I have the BEST recipe for Sour Cream Blueberry pancakes from a distant past Southern Living. I’ll share it with Mike if you’re done with pancakes.

  10. Carol Says:

    I’m glad you didn’t cook anemic looking pancakes with underdone centers like someone made that time. :-) And, yes, we ate them to be polite.

  11. smilinggreenmom Says:

    LOL! Big Bunny sure does seem to be enjoying her pancakes!! That is so funny :) I love breakfast, in fact, I think it is our family’s favorite meal! Our favorite pancakes are made using the most delicious ingredient – Kamut Khorasan Wheat flour. Oh…they just turn out so fluffy and they are packed with nutrients. Now I need to make some! Thanks for the idea :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

