Waking Up Happy

Last weekend I took the train upstate to spend the weekend with four of my good friends from college. We had planned every detail including making blueberry pancakes.  I had emailed the ingredient list in advance, but forgot the book at home. So I quickly asked a few of my Button Club friends to help me out and Kim responded. ( Thanks Kim.) 

So first, this is what my normal weekend looks like. Books, recipes and a little Charles Spurgeon on the side.

Honestly, most weekends I am very content with Spurgeon, but not this one.  When I first heard that The Button Club was making pancakes I instantly thought of Caedmon’s Call’s ” Table for Two” and the meaningful conversations my  friends and I would have.

I must admit I did not have any part in making the pancakes. My friend Susan’s husband, Brian, took over the task. I think in part to get the girls out of the house. However, we were grateful.  The one thing Brian said about the recipe was about the liquid content, but it all worked out in the end.

Here is Susan  with the blueberries while Brian makes Sandy’s non-blue one.  

This is my other dear friend, Sandy, trying to convince me that her chocolate chip pancake was indeed the size of her face. We are 30 years old we are not supposed to be playing with our food. 

It gets better.

This is me looking at the world through blueberry-pancake -colored glasses. 

This is how the pancakes turned out. Perfect!

I still wonder what was in the coffee that morning.  I just think it was being around friends who love and care for me and don’t mind that I take pictures of my meals as I am cooking them.  We did have a few meaningful conversations that weekend. However, sometimes you just have to be silly with your best friends. 

Waking up happy…check!

5 Responses to “Waking Up Happy”

  1. Megan Says:

    So much fun!

  2. Lydia Presley Says:

    I love the pictures!

  3. heymarlo Says:

    Yummy fun- the best kind!

  4. Kim Says:

    Great story!!

  5. Beth(any) Says:

    This sounds like the most fun weekend!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

