Catch-up

I’ve been on vacation for the last week – alternating between laziness and physical exertion at a working cattle ranch in Montana.  With no cell phone reception, no phones in the cabin, and 1 laptop with internet connection in the lodge.  Heck, yes.

Which means that I have not used vinegar to clean (this week, at least – I’ve done it before and have all the materials to continue doing so, if my mother would just stop “helping” by buying “new” cleaning supplies when she visits – gah!).

However, before I left, in a mad rush to clean out the fridge and pack and tie up as many loose ends with my patients as humanly possible, I did make myself a smoothie.  This wasn’t a new thing for me – I have long loved a good smoothie – but it was the first time I thought of it as a way to “get rid” of fruit about to go bad.  This was especially helpful in light of my need to clear the fridge of perishable items.  Also, it was pretty.  And delicious.  See?

Also, while I technically didn’t do the “shop at the farm” thing during the assigned week, I have frequented farmer’s markets in recent past, and when I lived in Birmingham, belonged to a CSA for a year.  That was awesome for teaching me to cook with and eat new things – for example, I had NO CLUE what to do with greens (kale, collards, etc), and now I voluntarily purchase them so I can cook them up with a little garlic, olive oil, and red pepper flakes.  Yummmmmm.

I also did, in fact, start a little windowsill garden – basil, tomatoes, and strawberries – all from seeds.  Which I purchased (with the tiny pots) in the $1 section of Target.  Yes I did.  Before I left, I transferred a tomato plant to a “self-watering” planter (which I’m not sure I believe) along with the basil.  And then I took it all over to Brandi’s house so she could plant-sit while I was gone.  Button Club community for the win!  Now, for the record, this has been the progression of my little plants under my care:

I will save you all the violent description of getting that planter from my deck and into my car all by myself.  Let’s just say it is NOT a good idea to move a planter full to the brim down stairs in a handtruck.  No it is not.  But I got the planter (and the teeny tiny pots) to Brandi’s for the duration of my trip.  I promised her that, as these cost $1, and as I had already killed one of the tomato plants prior to ever bringing it to her, that I would not be upset if they were dead when I returned home.  We’ll see how everything looks when I go to get them :).  (I suspect that Brandi’s thumb is greener than my own, and if they are dead, that it will have had everything to do with my transfer process and nothing to do with her care in my absence.)

At any rate, I am excited to be baking bread this week – it is sure to be delicious!  (Right?)

One Response to “Catch-up”

  1. Kim Says:

    That smoothie looks so good!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

