Tea with bread and jam…

When I counted up the hours needed for making bread according to How to Sew a Button, I was a little dismayed.  There was no way I was going to have enough time on any of the days of the week that “making bread” was the assignment.  Last week was all about getting home after 7 pm, and while I really wanted to bake the bread, I did not want to stay up until midnight to do it.

But!  I was saved by the whole wheat flour I purchased, which had a recipe for “No-Knead” wheat bread on it.  Hallelujah!  This bread only required 90 minutes to rise, and then could bake.  While it took away the whole lengthy process of kneading and letting the dough rise multiple times over, it did allow me to actually get a loaf of bread in the oven.

And I have to say – kneading or no, making your own bread is pretty empowering.  I honestly don’t really keep a lot of bread in my house – I don’t eat a lot of sandwiches, and anything I might want to eat with toast, I eat with English muffins.  But bread still has a certain significance to it – bread of life, daily bread – so basic, and yet so important.

So it was with great pride that I pulled my little loaf from the oven and declared victory over the feat of baking bread.  Sometime in the future, when I am home for more than 4 non-sleeping hours, I will try the kneading kind, but for now, I’m thoroughly enjoying my no-knead bread.  It’s especially delicious with my homemade strawberry jam. :)

3 Responses to “Tea with bread and jam…”

  1. Kyra Joy Says:

    All last week I was singing ” Tea with jam and bread.” I’m glad I am not the only one.

  2. Kim Says:

    Susan, that looks great!

    Kyra, that song is now in my head. Hehe.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

