A month in the making

Ok. Wow.  How long has it been since my last post?  I’m afraid to even check.   And what’s sad about that is that I’ve been participating each week in the themes.  Just not documenting it.  Silly.  You’d think I had three children home for the summer or something.

Which brings me to something I really love about these little “projects”- and that is the sharing with my children part.  I love that I now have weekly projects that I am working on- some of them natural things we have been doing all along and others that are little ideas I’ve wanted to do, just haven’t made time for.  And now I can look back and say, yes, in May we focused on this, this and this.  And in June we learned that.  Have I gushed enough?  I love this.  There.

But since I’ve been so lax in writing I’m just going to try to recount a few of out experiences over the last few weeks.  First.  Smoothies.  Oh how I love to make smoothies.  And actually, I was happy to see that the author mentioned looking through the fridge for fruit that’s about to go bad and throw it all in, because that is how I got started on my smoothie kick.  I realized that I was “saving” fruit because it was so “special” and then I’d look and the strawberries would be mushy or the blueberries dried up.  So I learned to catch them in time and that the easiest, most effective thing to do with those small amounts of “saved” fruit was to throw it in the blender.  With some yogurt.  And possibly some juice.  And a little ice on top. Delicious.

Yes, you may notice in that picture that the juice I used was Gerber baby juice.  My baby prefers water, and this juice was needing to be used up.  It was yummy.

And as far as shopping at the farm I have to say I really really wanted to find a

way to go berry picking at a local farm.  But it didn’t happen. (Do you hear that very loud annoyed SIGH?)  But I did do the next best thing, I joined a CSA-

actually, I’m not sure what the formal association is, but I now get a weekly farmbox of local organic food delivered to my door.  Yes, you read that right.  Delivered.  For free.  And for the most part it has been amazing.  I get everyth

ing from fresh caught fish and shrimp to locally made cheese (using local dairy milk) and of course locally grown produce.  And the fact that I don’t have to find time to go pick it up somewhere has made it heavenly.   (In case anyone is interested, here is the link to the folks that run it: http://www.cha-bella.com/)

As for bread making, I have to admit.  I took the easy way out.  I dusted off mybread machine and had to use the ingredients I had on hand. And what I had on hand was ingredients for Sally Lunn bread.    (http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=401223)

I will definitely be making it again.  I wish I had taken pictures, but it didn’t last long.  I think the baby gobbled it up as fast as the rest of us.   And it made me super proud to make a loaf of bread for my family.  I happen to have several friends and family who are quite into bread making (grinding their own flour and everything.)  So to accomplish this, even if I did use a bread machine, was good for me and my confidence in this whole domestic department.

I seriously feel like the Button Club has become that Home Ec class I never took but so desperately needed.  I’m really starting to get into this stuff.   But I’ll admit, I’m a bit scared of some of activities on our list. Baby steps, right?

One Response to “A month in the making”

  1. Kim Says:

    Your smoothie looks so good!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

