Let’s talk about July…

So, July.  It kinda snuck up on me, and now it’s almost over!  How did that happen?!

Right now I think I’m going to be 50/50 on tasks this month.  The “kill mildew” task was, fortunately, something I didn’t need that week, but let’s be honest – I’m gonna need it.  My housekeeping is just not that stellar, and I live in the hot and humid south.  I will be referring back to that chapter.

Also, the cooking with grease is not happening – mostly because I really don’t ever make anything that produces grease to begin with.  (Unless I am making gravy, but I think that’s another chapter!).

So – let’s talk about the tasks I have done so this month!  First: a walking regimen.

As my life has slowed down a bit in the past month, I’ve been able to restart some healthy habits I once picked up and the rapidly lost in the chaos of life (namely, eating well and exercising).  As this loss of healthy habits was notably reflected by my lack of clothes that fit, starting (or rather, restarting) a walking regimen was key in my effort to not purchase an entirely different wardrobe.

Now, I will admit that I did not follow the Button Club walking regimen except in spirit – firstly, because it is freaking hot outside in Nashville in July, and secondly, because I like to incorporate a little running (jogging) in my walking.  So – here it is, July 23rd, and guess what?!  After struggling with running for more than a minute straight at the end of June, I am now able to run for over 5 minutes.  Hooray!  I use my treadmill 3 days a week, bribed with hour long TV shows on Netflix, and some days I think I might even enjoy it.

And also in the name of good health – PIE!  (No, really.  I mean that.  I totally lost 2 lbs the week I ate pie every night.  And it was not the only thing I was eating!).  Making pie filling was not a new experience – after whining about wanting a sour cream apple pie (yes, it is as delicious as it sounds) at Thanksgiving one year, my mother permanently put me in charge of making them every year.  But pie CRUST?  Eeeeek.

I was pleased that despite my terror at screwing it up, Erin’s instructions were remarkably easy, once I got going.  The only moment of panic I had was when the bottom crust had just been transferred to the pan but not unfolded.  I was so sure I was going to ruin it all in the unfolding.  But I didn’t!  And the crust (which I made with butter, not lard, because we never used lard in my house growing up and so I just don’t…) was soooo delicious and light and flaky.  And buttery.  (I lost 2 lbs, but my little nutrition tracker yelled at me for my saturated fat intake every day, ha.).

Behold!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 Responses to “Let’s talk about July…”

  1. Lydia Says:

    Mmm. That looks delicious!

  2. Marlo Says:

    Way to go on the pie! You may just be inspiring me…

  3. Kyra Joy Says:

    mango and ginger!!! Do you just grate ginger root it to the fruit… I would have never thought of that combo in a pie, but it sounds DIVINE. I love making Brandy’s Thai rice with mangos.

  4. Megan Says:

    Oh WOW! YUMMY!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

