Sometimes it just gets in the way!

I was born with Cerebral Palsy, but it’s not a big part of my life.  I live  rather normally, but sometimes CP just gets in the way. I have a hard time chopping veggies. I can’t really peel apples. A few years ago, I learned that I could chop zucchini, yellow squash, and Italian eggplant and make a very nice locally grown summer dish without much bloodshed.  Fresh tomatoes, Basil and Oregano are the best!  I made this dish on Thursday night and realized that my knives were in dire need of honing.  Honing was my second thought. My first was throwing my seven-year old knife set out (or across the room) and getting new.

 So I got out the book and saw that honing does involve two hands as well. NOOOOO!  I watched videos and tried it. I was able to do the one side fine, but it was the switching that messed me up. Hopefully, I didn’t completely destroy my knives.

As I am thinking about the upcoming tasks I am a little afraid. I didn’t attempt to make bread or a pie crust from scratch.  I want to make a quilt out of my old tee-shirts, but I don’t want it to look like a second grader did it. I want to knit a scarf, yet I know my left hand will not cooperate. I am not a crafty person. I write and decorate.

My Grandpa was an Eagle Scout and he showed me how to do “one-handed” crocheting with an old camp rope when I was a kid. It was a long chain of continuous Boy Scout slip knots.   This was a great distraction for me on our long road trips to Arkansas and Texas and, later, South Carolina.  Once I got through the whole skein of yarn I would double and triple it. The bad thing about this is that it did not produce anything of use. It just ended up in a ball under my bed. I would love to make something that I could use and enjoy.

The key to living independently with Cerebral Palsy is to have a good support system.  Sometimes I just have  to ask for help. Sometimes it’s fun to try it by myself first.

On  the cooking with grease task. I did not do it.  My waistline still hasn’t forgiven me for learning how to make homemade Mac and Cheese!

7 Responses to “Sometimes it just gets in the way!”

  1. Kari Says:

    Great post, Kyra! I like hearing about the different ways that these are stretching all of us.

    I can see that the bread might be hard, but I bet you could do the pie crust. Do you have a food processor? I do pie crust in the food processor sometimes. I would be glad to send you a recipe if you needed one!

  2. Kyra Joy Says:

    I just got one to make Pesto. I would love a recipe.

  3. Troy S. Says:

    I’ve walked through places like Bed Bath and Beyond wondering who would be dumb enough to buy, say, a separate quesadilla iron and panini grill? But I’ve had to rethink apple peelers in your case. Looks like you can get one for cheap, around $10-$15. Heck, I’ll buy you one if you send me a pie!

  4. Lydia Presley Says:

    Mmm – that dish you have cooking looks delicious!

  5. Hannah Faith Says:

    Thanks for sharing, Kyra!

    I struggle with using knives… and I’ve found that I am much more successful with a good sharp pair of kitchen shears. I use them for anything I can.

  6. Kyra Joy Says:

    Troy! Welcome to the home The Button Club, sir! I have yet to buy an appple peeler. I have “invented” the Baked Apple Pie with the skins. I also make a killer Pear Cranberry Pie!!!

    I use kitchen shears too!

  7. Kim Says:

    I’m with Lydia- that dish looks great!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

